Skip to content

Gold Price Today in UK – GBP per Gram & Troy Ounce

Gold purity

Gold Rate in United Kingdom

24K gold · 1 troy ounce
£3,128.60

International spot equivalent

Gold metal value before dealer charges
22K / 1 troy ounce£2,867.88

Daily Reference Archive

24K · GBP / 1 troy ounce

Yesterday 18 Oct 2026
£3,124.57
1 week ago 12 Oct 2026
£3,162.85
DAILY PRICE COMPARISON

Gold Price History

GBP / 1 troy ounce
£3,176.47£3,146.17£3,115.882026-10-13 · £3,167.8113 Oct2026-10-14 · £3,132.572026-10-15 · £3,128.502026-10-16 · £3,144.3716 Oct2026-10-17 · £3,124.542026-10-18 · £3,124.572026-10-19 · £3,137.0619 Oct
Period high£3,167.81
Period low£3,124.54
Recorded dates7

13 Oct – 19 Oct 2026 · 7 recorded dates. Hover or focus a point; arrow keys move between dates. UTC publication dates; daily indicative values.

Price Details & Calculation

A gold reference measures the metal value. Jewellery and bullion offers may include taxes, premiums and making charges.

24K uses the published reference value.

Gold Rates in United Kingdom Cities

Dealer Quotations in United Kingdom

Named dealer prices for the products and terms shown.

Hatton Garden Metals

Hatton Garden Metals · named supplier prices
Gold / productPrice
24KPublished online scrap-gold buying ratesHatton Garden Metals
Quote Details

Tax: not stated · Making: not applicable

Published UK online buying rates, subject to assay, transaction and postal-service terms. London counter prices may differ. No publication timestamp or numerical fineness is supplied; the actual collection time and the supplier’s carat labels are retained. Viewing this comparison does not lock a price.

Supplier buys£2,627.00
per 1 troy ounce
22KPublished online scrap-gold buying ratesHatton Garden Metals
Quote Details

Tax: not stated · Making: not applicable

Published UK online buying rates, subject to assay, transaction and postal-service terms. London counter prices may differ. No publication timestamp or numerical fineness is supplied; the actual collection time and the supplier’s carat labels are retained. Viewing this comparison does not lock a price.

Supplier buys£2,406.16
per 1 troy ounce
21KPublished online scrap-gold buying ratesHatton Garden Metals
Quote Details

Tax: not stated · Making: not applicable

Published UK online buying rates, subject to assay, transaction and postal-service terms. London counter prices may differ. No publication timestamp or numerical fineness is supplied; the actual collection time and the supplier’s carat labels are retained. Viewing this comparison does not lock a price.

Supplier buys£2,298.55
per 1 troy ounce
18KPublished online scrap-gold buying ratesHatton Garden Metals
Quote Details

Tax: not stated · Making: not applicable

Published UK online buying rates, subject to assay, transaction and postal-service terms. London counter prices may differ. No publication timestamp or numerical fineness is supplied; the actual collection time and the supplier’s carat labels are retained. Viewing this comparison does not lock a price.

Supplier buys£1,970.09
per 1 troy ounce
14KPublished online scrap-gold buying ratesHatton Garden Metals
Quote Details

Tax: not stated · Making: not applicable

Published UK online buying rates, subject to assay, transaction and postal-service terms. London counter prices may differ. No publication timestamp or numerical fineness is supplied; the actual collection time and the supplier’s carat labels are retained. Viewing this comparison does not lock a price.

Supplier buys£1,536.82
per 1 troy ounce
10KPublished online scrap-gold buying ratesHatton Garden Metals
Quote Details

Tax: not stated · Making: not applicable

Published UK online buying rates, subject to assay, transaction and postal-service terms. London counter prices may differ. No publication timestamp or numerical fineness is supplied; the actual collection time and the supplier’s carat labels are retained. Viewing this comparison does not lock a price.

Supplier buys£1,095.46
per 1 troy ounce
9KPublished online scrap-gold buying ratesHatton Garden Metals
Quote Details

Tax: not stated · Making: not applicable

Published UK online buying rates, subject to assay, transaction and postal-service terms. London counter prices may differ. No publication timestamp or numerical fineness is supplied; the actual collection time and the supplier’s carat labels are retained. Viewing this comparison does not lock a price.

Supplier buys£985.05
per 1 troy ounce

City Gold Rates in United Kingdom

GBP per 1 troy ounce · Indicative values unless a seller is named

London

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

London · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Birmingham

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Birmingham · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Manchester

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Manchester · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Glasgow

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Glasgow · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Leeds

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Leeds · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Liverpool

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Liverpool · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Edinburgh

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Edinburgh · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Bristol

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Bristol · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Sheffield

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Sheffield · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Cardiff

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Cardiff · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Belfast

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Belfast · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Nottingham

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Nottingham · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Leicester

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Leicester · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Coventry

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Coventry · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

Newcastle upon Tyne

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · Indicative value

Newcastle upon Tyne · country reference, not a city-specific shop quotation
PurityPrice
24K£3,128.60per 1 troy ounce
22KCalculated£2,867.88per 1 troy ounce
21KCalculated£2,737.53per 1 troy ounce
18KCalculated£2,346.45per 1 troy ounce
14KCalculated£1,825.02per 1 troy ounce
10KCalculated£1,303.58per 1 troy ounce
9KCalculated£1,173.23per 1 troy ounce

15 city tables

Browse Cities
LondonIndicative rateBirminghamIndicative rateManchesterIndicative rateGlasgowIndicative rateLeedsIndicative rateLiverpoolIndicative rateEdinburghIndicative rateBristolIndicative rateSheffieldIndicative rateCardiffIndicative rateBelfastIndicative rateNottinghamIndicative rateLeicesterIndicative rateCoventryIndicative rateNewcastle upon TyneIndicative rate

7- and 30-Day Reference Summary

24K daily reference · GBP · same selected weight as the chart

7-Day Window

13 Oct 2026 – 19 Oct 2026 · 7/7 dates recorded

Low
£3,124.54
High
£3,167.81
First to last record
−£30.75 (-0.97%)

30-Day Window

20 Sep 2026 – 19 Oct 2026 · 30/30 dates recorded

Low
£3,119.08
High
£3,269.84
First to last record
−£132.77 (-4.06%)
AT A GLANCE

24K & 22K Gold by Weight

Last Updated: 19 Oct 2026 · GBP

Common weights
Weight24K gold22K gold
1 gram£100.59£92.20
4 grams£402.35£368.82
8 grams£804.69£737.64
12 grams£1,207.04£1,106.46
1 tola£1,173.23£1,075.46
1 troy ounce£3,128.60£2,867.88
COMPARE THE DAILY RECORD

Daily Gold Rate Table

Daily indicative references in GBP per 1 troy ounce · UTC publication dates.

Latest published dates
Date24K22K21K18K14K10K9K
19 Oct 2026£3,137.06£2,875.64£2,744.93£2,352.80£1,829.95£1,307.11£1,176.40
18 Oct 2026£3,124.57£2,864.19£2,734.00£2,343.43£1,822.67£1,301.90£1,171.71
17 Oct 2026£3,124.54£2,864.16£2,733.97£2,343.40£1,822.65£1,301.89£1,171.70
16 Oct 2026£3,144.37£2,882.34£2,751.33£2,358.28£1,834.22£1,310.16£1,179.14
15 Oct 2026£3,128.50£2,867.79£2,737.44£2,346.37£1,824.96£1,303.54£1,173.19
14 Oct 2026£3,132.57£2,871.52£2,741.00£2,349.43£1,827.33£1,305.24£1,174.71
13 Oct 2026£3,167.81£2,903.83£2,771.84£2,375.86£1,847.89£1,319.92£1,187.93
GOLD VALUE CALCULATOR

Calculate your Gold Value

Choose a weight and purity to estimate its metal value using the selected market reference.

Estimated metal value£1,005.8710 grams × the selected 24K price per gram
United Kingdom · 19 Oct 2026

Making charges, tax, stones and dealer buyback deductions are not included.

Compare Two Shop Offers

Enter complete prices for the same item, purity and net gold weight in the selected currency. Include the same taxes and charges in both amounts.

Enter both offers to compare the total cost.

Table of Contents

Check gold in pounds sterling, distinguish fine-gold content from total coin weight, and read UK hallmark and investment-gold terminology.

A Pound-Sterling Reference for Different Gold Products

The UK dashboard gives the metal reference in GBP. A bullion bar, a Sovereign, a Britannia and a second-hand ring need different product details before that figure can be used sensibly. Record the actual fine-gold content of a coin and the net alloy weight and carat of jewellery. Their total weights should not be assumed interchangeable.

The Royal Mint explains bullion pricing as a spot reference plus a product premium. When comparing a dealer’s offer, calculate how much of the complete price is above the value of the stated fine-gold content. Delivery, payment conditions and the seller’s current repurchase terms help establish the practical cost of that particular product.

Read the Hallmark as a Set of Marks

UK government guidance describes the sponsor’s mark, fineness mark and assay-office mark used in a UK hallmark. The fineness number expresses parts per thousand; 375, for example, corresponds to 9-carat gold. An assay-office town mark identifies where an item was hallmarked, not a special gold price for that town.

For a ring described as 9ct or 375, select 9K in the calculator and enter the net alloy weight. The calculation uses 9/24, or 37.5%. Applying an 18K or 22K reference to its full weight overstates the theoretical gold content. For a mixed-material item, ask which part of the measured weight is gold alloy and how the seller or buyer has accounted for the other components.

Investment Gold and the Final Purchase Price

HMRC’s gold guidance defines qualifying investment bars and wafers by fineness and accepted bullion weights, with a separate definition for qualifying coins. The VAT exemption depends on those criteria and relevant conditions. It should not be extended to jewellery or every object sold with the word “gold” in its description.

Keep a product invoice with the date, item identification, quantity and amount paid. A record of the complete purchase price is more useful for a later sale than a screenshot of the spot chart. Tax treatment of a sale or of a particular ownership structure may require its own assessment; a general metal calculator does not decide it.

Online Buying Rates and a Local Counter Offer

Hatton Garden Metals publishes online buying rates by carat and explains that its London counter may use the live market rate during a visit. Its separately labelled table on this page therefore describes online buying terms. It is not assigned to London as an independently observed city price. Where the source gives no publication timestamp, the collection time is identified as such.

For a London, Birmingham, Manchester or Edinburgh comparison, record whether an offer requires a postal sale or counter visit. Match the accepted carat and net alloy weight, then compare final proceeds. A 9ct-alloy gram price cannot be compared directly with a fine-gold gram price.

The gold-purity guide explains why an alloy weight differs from fine-gold content. For chart definitions, read how to interpret gold history.

Worked 9ct Example: Compare the Net Scrap Offer

Hypothetical lot: 20 grams of 9ct / 375 gold alloy contains 7.5 grams of fine gold. At an assumed pure-metal reference of £100 per gram, its reference value is £750. Select 9K and 20 grams in the calculator to reproduce the nominal metal calculation.

Now suppose Buyer A offers £34 per gram of 9ct alloy and deducts a fixed £20 fee: 20 × £34 − £20 = £660. Buyer B offers £33.50 per gram of the same accepted alloy with no separate fee: 20 × £33.50 = £670. Buyer B’s lower headline rate produces £10 more in net proceeds on these assumptions.

These are invented teaching offers, not live UK buying prices. In an actual postal sale, the accepted weight, assay, delivery arrangements and right to decline an offer also need to be established. Do not compare a fine-gold gram rate directly with a 9ct-alloy gram rate.

FAQs

What does 375 Mean on a UK Gold Ring?

375 fineness means 375 parts gold in 1,000 parts of alloy, or 37.5%, corresponding to 9ct. Use the 9K calculator setting with the ring’s net alloy weight. For example, 8 grams at 375 contains 3 grams of fine gold. The hallmark relates to the article’s metal standard; the seller or buyer establishes its commercial offer.

Is an Assay-Office Mark a Local Price Guarantee?

No. It relates to hallmarking and the article’s precious-metal content. The commercial buying or selling price still depends on the item, weight, premium and transaction terms. A Birmingham or London mark does not prescribe a city-wide gold price.

Do All Small Gold Items Need the Same Hallmark Treatment?

UK guidance explains the 1-gram gold weight threshold and hallmarking requirements. Exemptions and the item’s circumstances matter, so check the official guidance for the article. A missing hallmark and an unknown purity should not be resolved by a price calculation.

Is a Sovereign Valued as One Troy Ounce of Gold?

No. Use the specification for the exact Sovereign denomination and issue. The word “coin” does not establish a standard gold weight. Calculate from its stated fine-gold content and then assess any product or collectible premium separately.

How do I Compare a Britannia with a Small Gold Bar?

Identify the fine-gold weight and fineness of each product, then compare their complete prices per fine-gold gram. Keep the premium, delivery and buyback terms visible. The coin’s face value should not be used as its metal valuation.

Is Investment Gold Normally Exempt from UK VAT?

HMRC describes an exemption subject to defined product criteria and relevant conditions. Qualifying bars and wafers need at least 995 fineness and accepted bullion weights; coins have separate criteria. Ask the seller to identify how the actual product qualifies.

Does a Gold Coin Automatically Qualify as Investment Gold?

No. HMRC’s coin guidance addresses qualifying coins and the applicable list. Check the exact product and issue. A commemorative description or legal-tender face value alone should not be used to infer every aspect of its tax treatment.

Why is the GBP Reference Different from a USD Gold Headline?

The figures are in different currencies and may be observed at different times. Match the troy-ounce weight and timestamp, then use a consistent USD/GBP conversion. A currency movement can alter sterling gold even without the same movement in the dollar price.

Can I Compare Scrap-Gold Offers Using this Page?

Use the correct assessed purity and net gold weight as a reference, then obtain the buyer’s actual payable offer. Ask for any assay, refining or handling deduction. Compare the final proceeds for the same lot instead of a headline “up to” rate.

Should I Include Gemstones in a Gold Weight Calculation?

No. Separate their weight and valuation from the gold alloy wherever possible. If the seller quotes one combined total, ask for the method used. Applying a gold rate to the gross weight of a stone-set item gives an unreliable metal estimate.

Does a Higher Gold Chart Mean My Collectible Coin Rose Equally?

A collectible’s price can include condition, rarity, issue and buyer demand beyond the metal. The chart measures its selected gold series only. Obtain a product-specific quotation before translating that movement into the resale value of a collectible.

What Identifies a Local UK Gold Quote?

A local quote must name the supplier and location and state the product, transaction side and timing. Hatton Garden Metals’ online rate page says its London counter may use a different price basis. Accordingly, its online table here is a supplier quotation rather than a London city rate. Use a dated counter offer for a local comparison.